Atlanta, GA Apr 1-3, 2022 at the Yaraab Shrine Center

Festival report by Charles Shapiro

AJC article with 26 photos by Jenni Girtman

Photos of the festival by Joyce Howard

Photos of the festival by Kelly Jordan at Saporta Report

Videos of the festival by Andrew Austin, Official Videographer

Videos of the festival by others

Yaraab Shrine Tyler - Marshall Patton



Director - Spencer Schwab

Assistant - Madelyn Dinnerstein

Combat Director - Lao Alovus

Games Winners

  • 3-Ball Simon Says - Scott Raison (PA)
  • 5-Ball Endurance - Jasper Murphy (TX)
  • Blind Juggling - Jasper Murphy (TX)
  • Quarters - Joshua Black (GA)
  • Club Balancing - Chuck Clark (MI)
  • Club Crown - Jasper Murphy (TX)
  • 7-Club Passing - Jimmy Robertson (GA) and Lao Alovus (FL)
  • Huggling - Joshua Black (GA) and Aidyn LaFlamme (NC)

 games2 500



Director - Dan Howard

Judges Wrangler and Timer - Jerry Taylor

Sound - Craig Lewis & Hal Baird

Entertainer while judges deliberate - John Nations

Entertainment by the Seed and Feed Marching Abominable Band


  • Kathryn Carr (Maryland)
  • Drew Brown (Atlanta GA)
  • Stephen Senesky (Woodstock GA)
  • David DiMuzio (Nashville TN)
  • LilyRuth Mamary (Philadelphia PA)
  • Nikolai Marshall (Highland Park NJ)


2022 PHIL Groundhog trophy winners

  • Most Jugglicious - David DiMuzio
  • Jest Sublime - LilyRuth Mamary
  • Brilliantly Foolish - Nikolai Marshall



Director - Bruce Plott

Sound - Craig Lewis

Backdrop by Circus Camp and Greg McMahan

MC - Tim Settimi

  • DeLuxe Vaudeville Orchestra (Rodger French, Toni Shifalo, Don Normando, Lisa Mount, Andy Ford, Bruce Plott, Chip Epstein)
  • David and Cruz DiMuzio - balls and acrobatics
  • Tim Settimi and DVO - singing and ukelele
  • Scott Raison - hooping
  • John Nations - clubs
  • Markus Furtner - devil stick and unicycle
  • Jay Jones and Dan Howard present Mouse Awards to Craig Lewis and Andrew Austin

 DSC 1447e500


Vendors and Sponsors


More Festival Volunteers

It was great having so many volunteers helping put on the festival!

Publicity - all those who shared and liked on social media

Website, social media and emails - Joyce Howard

Registration - Joyce Howard, Madelyn Dinnerstein, Justin Mullins, Dan Howard, Austin Childs, Kelley Childs, Anne Rohr, Michael Black

Treasurer - Jay Jones

Facilities Director - Alan Tidwell

Transport, Setup and Takedown Helpers - Alan Tidwell, Austin Childs, Kelley Childs, Charles Shapiro, Dan Howard, Andrew Austin, Alan Alovus, Lao Alovus, Jay Jones, Joyce Howard, Ray Stern, Taylor Frisbey and too many others to list

AJA Banner Setup and Takedown - Andy Ford

Forms, Signs, Posters - Austin Childs, Ray Stern, Alan Tidwell, Jay Jones

Trophies - Walter Beals, Austin Childs, Kelley Childs and Spencer Schwab

Nametags, wristbands - Chuck Lazarow, Spencer Schwab, Jay Jones

Artwork for t-shirt, nametags, wristbands and trophies - Rick Behel, John Jessmon, Chuck Lazarow

Festival Booklet - Andrew Austin, Keith Watson, Joyce Howard

Workshops Director - Shivella Schwab, Afton Benson

Workshop Leaders - Markus Furtner, Sean Tessier, Keith McNeil, Kit Summers, Steve Senesky, Matt Holzinger, Patrick Russell, Richard Kennison, Jerry Higginson

Vendors Coordinator - Joyce Howard

Raffle - Jay Jones, Dan Howard

Maté and Snacks - Bruce Plott, Ray Stern, Kelly Hoyt, Alan Tidwell, Robin Purtee and others

Water and cups - Ray Stern

Kids Korner - Ray Stern and Greg McMahan

Cabaret Ticket Takers - Ray Stern, Greg McMahan

Post Festival Dinner Coordinator & Festival Reporter - Charles Shapiro

Hosts for out-of-town Guests - Shivella Schwab, Anne Rohr, Bruce Plott and others